Looking back at the World

 

I love travelling.

I have never considered not seeing different places around the world…

I was a child blessed with parents who loved to travel.

The Big Hole in Kimberley, Northern Cape, South Africa.
The Big Hole in Kimberley, Northern Cape, South Africa.

From a very young age, I realised that my family looked different from the majority of people who travelled.
This hasn’t changed.
Even in my own country.

I want to share my experiences as a black female traveller.

This came about because of one particular incident in Japan where I was embraced by a young African-American lady who was so happy to see another young black woman travelling in such a foreign country.

To her this was a rare occasion. To me this was the last straw.

I want to highlight the beauty of a travelling black female:

  1. You will get stared at and approached out of interest by locals more than your average tourist.
  2. You will receive preferential treatment in many countries, especially if you are travelling in an African country.
  3. You will find yourself in interesting scenarios: receiving free tokens (*score*) along with marriage proposals (uhmmm…)
  4. You will be received with big smiles and warm hugs by other people of colour.

People’s reactions are usually positive because it is refreshing for them to see black people travelling.

                                          This blog will cover numerous countries.
I will share some travel tips:
what to pack for different travel types; general etiquette in certain countries, i.e. tipping and dress codes.

I will also share the many, many, MANY images I have taken on my travels.

I hope that as you read through my journey you are also inspired to travel.
You will see that the world is waiting for you with open hands.

Let’s journey together…

 

 

Leave a Reply

