Tales from the East

Last September I took a two week trip to the Far East. This has always been a dream for me to experience Japan and South Korea. I  have always been interested to explore the world, but my deep interest in Asia began over ten years ago in 2005, when I attended the Cathay Pacific Wilderness Experience. Ten  South Africans had the opportunity to spend ten days with other young delegates from across the Asian continent and New Zealand in the bush. That is when I discovered the diverse world of people from the east, and those ten days will remain some of the best days of my life. The food, the culture and most especially the friends that I made opened up a whole new world for me.

I also grew up with a staple of Anime, and later got introduced to K-drama. I found myself becoming more and more intrigued with the food and culture of the Japanese and Korean people and I wanted to go over there to experience the things I have always seen and heard.

IMG_4841
Entrance way to Fushimi Inari Temple

 

have been contemplating this for quiet a while, but decided to do it when my best friend, Rori, moved to Japan to teach English. She was the anchor for my visit to the East and I couldn’t have asked for someone else to help me feel at home far away from home. I was only with Rori on the Japan leg of the trip, but that was enough to prepare me for South Korea.

IMG_5618
Entrance way to Gyeongbokgung Palace

 

All I can say is, this trip is only the beginning.. I am ready to go back and see more of Japan and Korea, and also explore the rest of the continent. 

I will be sharing the journey Through My Lens for the time I spent there. Please enjoy.

Through My Lens series is a new project that looks at some of my favourite adventures through a series of simple images. The purpose of the project came about when I found that it was difficult to embody long, adventurous trips in one post. So rather than writing lengthy insights of those places, it would be far better for the reader to experience them as I did, visually.

2 thoughts on “Tales from the East

  1. Oh my word I’m in love with asia esp korea and china. I would love to visit south korea, how was your experience there as a black female?

    Like

    1. Hi massinding, thank you for your comment.

      I have never been to China, but it is part of the plan. South Korea was amazing, I personally had a lot of fun when I was there. Initially I was scared because I heard that people of colour are usually not treated nicely, but it was the complete opposite. I got lost and there was an Ajumma to help me, and I got a lot of Korean guys approach me.. that was unexpected. All in all the experience was amazing and the people were open, friendly and always curious about where you are from!! You will definitely have fun there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

